Announcing SKL Class XLIV

Congratulations to the impressive leaders selected to participate in SKL Class XLIV

Steve Walker
Moderator of SKL Class XLIV

Each year the Stanley K. Lacy Executive Leadership Series (SKL), now in its 44th year, selects 25 individuals to participate in this highly competitive program, which seeks to expand the ranks of community leaders by teaching and motivating members to address the needs of Central Indiana.

Class members are chosen because of their significant community involvement and professional achievement; their demonstrated interest in community issues; a record of participation and achievement in voluntary community activities; and their willingness to expand their leadership role in the community.

“Indianapolis has a long, rich history of community leaders providing vision, effort, and resources,” said Rebecca Hutton, President & CEO and SKL Program Director at Leadership Indianapolis. “We are proud to support this diverse group of emerging leaders and their key role in Central Indiana’s future. Our community will be strengthened through their civil discourse, shared learning, and collaborative leadership.”

Steve Walker has been named the Moderator for SKL Class XLIV. Mr. Walker is the Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Walker. To ensure that the series is timely and topical, each class’s moderator identifies aspects of broad economic and societal issues that are specific to Central Indiana for the class to study.

“Exactly 30 years ago, I was selected to be a member of SKL Class XIV. Little did I know what a profoundly positive impact this experience would have on my life, my business and my family. SKL took my love for my hometown to a new and higher place, providing the gateway to be involved with and contribute to the growth and progress of Greater Indy. Along the way I made great friends, had incredible experiences and learned many valuable lessons. I have always been grateful to SKL and promised myself long ago that if I ever got the opportunity to be moderator, I would jump at the chance. I am so grateful they called. Now I get to “go back” to SKL and experience it again, this time with twenty-five emerging leaders. It’s going be a great year and I can’t wait to get started,” said Walker. “My dad, Frank Walker, was Moderator of SKL Class XIII. This makes us the first father-son moderators in the now 44-year history of SKL. And that is pretty darn cool too.”

SKL Class XLIV will meet monthly from September through June. Participants will interact with local leaders, professional experts, and community decision makers to discuss a range of community issues.

To learn more about SKL, click here.

Class XLIV Roster
Steve Walker, Moderator

Alicia Wilson Baker
Director of Neighborhood Engagement
John Boner Neighborhood Centers
Adam Basch
Senior Vice President of Portfolio Management
Kite Realty Group Trust
Kimberly Bostic
Director, Tocqueville Society
United Way of Central Indiana
Jay Chaudhary
Managing Attorney/ Director of Medical Legal Partnerships
Indiana Legal Services
Akilah Darden
Operations Executive
Smoot Construction
Sheila Dollaske
Director of School Development & Innovation
Goodwill Education Initiatives
Danielle Dove
Director of Marketing & Sales
Indiana Repertory Theatre
Matthew Ehinger
Ice Miller LLP
Lourenzo Giple
Architectural Designer/Project Manager
Rottmann Collier Architects
Logan Harrison
Senior Director of Public Affairs
Anthem, Inc.
Oni N. Harton
Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Kashif Khan
Executive Vice President
Infrastructure Engineering, Inc.
Amber LaRue
Senior Vice President, Healthcare Relationship Manager
Fifth Third Bank
Travis Meek
Senior Counsel
Cummins Inc.
Eric Neuburger
Stadium Director
Capital Improvement Board of Managers of Marion
Sean Northup
Deputy Director
Indianapolis Metropolitan Planning Organization
Amar Patel
Executive Director
Teach for America
Taylor Schaffer
Deputy Chief of Staff
City of Indianapolis
David Shaw
Director of Concessions & Air Service
Indianapolis Airport Authority
Brittany Smith
Midwest Regional Director of Community and Marketing
Jason Spilbeler
Executive Director, Investment Specialist
J.P. Morgan Private Bank
Tekiah Tunstall
Senior Business Analyst/Technical Project Manager
Bosma Enterprises
Greg VanSlambrook
Brebeuf Jesuit Prepatory School
Kristen Fuhs Wells
Vice President
Indiana Humanities
Bob Wood
Chief, Appellate Division
United States Attorney’s Office, Southern District of Indiana

2019-2020 MYLC Class Announced

Mayor Joe Hogsett announces new class of students to serve on
Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council

Fourteen teens selected from across Marion County to provide a voice on community issues, serve as advisors to city leaders

Mayor Joe Hogsett announced 14 new students will complete the 2019-2020 class of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council (MYLC). These teens will join 11 returning members of the inaugural group which began meeting monthly last July. This diverse group of 25 juniors and seniors in high school will represent the interests of Indianapolis youth, providing feedback for the mayor and other city leaders on issues that affect the community.

“I am excited to welcome these talented young men and women to the discussion table, with an experience that is truly an immersion into local government,” said Mayor Joe Hogsett. “We not only look forward to hearing the unique and thoughtful perspectives from each student, but also to building upon the success of the council’s first year and developing the next generation of civic leaders.”

First announced by Mayor Hogsett in April of last year, the MYLC seeks to develop new leaders and elevate the role of young people in making Indianapolis a safer, stronger, and more welcoming city. The group represents high schools in all nine Indianapolis townships and reflects the community’s rich diversity. The council is made possible by the Lilly Endowment, The Indianapolis Foundation (a CICF affiliate), Leadership Indianapolis, and the Marion County Commission on Youth.

The MYLC saw its first group of student leaders graduate last month in a ceremony at the Indiana State Museum. The new students announced today will complete the 2019-2020 class and add their diverse perspectives to monthly meetings with the mayor and other city leaders, lending youth insight on issues facing the community as a whole, as well as specifically in their neighborhoods. Orientation for this year’s class will take place on Friday, July 26.

The members of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council are as follows:

New for 2019-20

Angel-Hannah Akinleye – Riverside High School
Steve Akinterinwa – Ben Davis University High School
Katherine Dolen – Christel House Academy South

Mateo Escobedo – Lawrence Central High School
Madeline Felts – Bishop Chatard High School
Nikhil Gloyeske – Franklin Central High School
Natanya Katz – Brebeuf Jesuit High School
Joshua MacKinnon – Purdue Polytechnic High School
Grace Moore – Lawrence Central High School
Mangtin Par – Perry Meridian High School
Sui Len Par – Perry Meridian High School
Darnell Perkins Jr. – Pike High School
Cadyn Waxingmoon – Homeschool
Reese Wiley – Roncalli High School

Returning from 2018-19

Ranya Abedelmalik – Shortridge High School
Katie Baker – Roncalli High School
Amina Dalal – Ben Davis High School
Curshuna Harvey – Warren Central High School
Helen Hughes – Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School
Tara Kalia – Franklin Central High School
Adriyanna Staten – Ben Davis University High School
Arat Palacios-Ricaño – Herron High School
Sophia Pantzer – International School of Indiana
Hayden Redelman – Bishop Chatard High School
Alli Shuffitt – Warren Central High School