2019-2020 MYLC Class Announced

Mayor Joe Hogsett announces new class of students to serve on
Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council

Fourteen teens selected from across Marion County to provide a voice on community issues, serve as advisors to city leaders

Mayor Joe Hogsett announced 14 new students will complete the 2019-2020 class of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council (MYLC). These teens will join 11 returning members of the inaugural group which began meeting monthly last July. This diverse group of 25 juniors and seniors in high school will represent the interests of Indianapolis youth, providing feedback for the mayor and other city leaders on issues that affect the community.

“I am excited to welcome these talented young men and women to the discussion table, with an experience that is truly an immersion into local government,” said Mayor Joe Hogsett. “We not only look forward to hearing the unique and thoughtful perspectives from each student, but also to building upon the success of the council’s first year and developing the next generation of civic leaders.”

First announced by Mayor Hogsett in April of last year, the MYLC seeks to develop new leaders and elevate the role of young people in making Indianapolis a safer, stronger, and more welcoming city. The group represents high schools in all nine Indianapolis townships and reflects the community’s rich diversity. The council is made possible by the Lilly Endowment, The Indianapolis Foundation (a CICF affiliate), Leadership Indianapolis, and the Marion County Commission on Youth.

The MYLC saw its first group of student leaders graduate last month in a ceremony at the Indiana State Museum. The new students announced today will complete the 2019-2020 class and add their diverse perspectives to monthly meetings with the mayor and other city leaders, lending youth insight on issues facing the community as a whole, as well as specifically in their neighborhoods. Orientation for this year’s class will take place on Friday, July 26.

The members of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council are as follows:

New for 2019-20

Angel-Hannah Akinleye – Riverside High School
Steve Akinterinwa – Ben Davis University High School
Katherine Dolen – Christel House Academy South

Mateo Escobedo – Lawrence Central High School
Madeline Felts – Bishop Chatard High School
Nikhil Gloyeske – Franklin Central High School
Natanya Katz – Brebeuf Jesuit High School
Joshua MacKinnon – Purdue Polytechnic High School
Grace Moore – Lawrence Central High School
Mangtin Par – Perry Meridian High School
Sui Len Par – Perry Meridian High School
Darnell Perkins Jr. – Pike High School
Cadyn Waxingmoon – Homeschool
Reese Wiley – Roncalli High School

Returning from 2018-19

Ranya Abedelmalik – Shortridge High School
Katie Baker – Roncalli High School
Amina Dalal – Ben Davis High School
Curshuna Harvey – Warren Central High School
Helen Hughes – Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School
Tara Kalia – Franklin Central High School
Adriyanna Staten – Ben Davis University High School
Arat Palacios-Ricaño – Herron High School
Sophia Pantzer – International School of Indiana
Hayden Redelman – Bishop Chatard High School
Alli Shuffitt – Warren Central High School

Announcing SKL Class XLIII

We are thrilled to welcome SKL Class XLIII to the Leadership Indianapolis family!


“Indianapolis has a long, rich history of community leaders providing vision, effort, and resources,” said Rebecca King, President & CEO and SKL Program Director at Leadership Indianapolis. “We are proud to support these emerging leaders and their key role in Central Indiana’s future. Our community will be strengthened by their passion, insight, and leadership.”


John Lechleiter has been named the Moderator for SKL Class XLIII.


“For over four decades, the Stanley K. Lacy Executive Leadership Series has served our community in a profoundly important way by educating and helping shape our emerging leaders,” said Lechleiter. “It is a special privilege to be asked to serve as moderator of SKL Class XLIII. I look forward to working with class members to understand better both the challenges and opportunities before us, and to consider thoughtfully what we as individuals can do to strengthen our communities for the benefit of all our citizens.”



SKL Class XLIII will meet monthly from September through June. Class members will interact with local leaders, professional experts, and community decision makers to discuss a range of community issues.


To learn more about SKL, visit here.



John Lechleiter, Moderator

 Duchess Adjei

Regional Communication Director

American Red Cross

 Tim Brown

General Counsel, Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs

Indy Chamber

 Megan Carrico

Manager of Communications

Indianapolis Airport Authority

 Andrew Cohoat

Business Development


 Tamara Cypress

Director, Corporate Communications & Culture

STANLEY Security

Joseph Delamater


Razumich & Delamater PC

 Meghann Dials

Regional Vice President


Brooke Dunn

Associate, Corporate Group

Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

 Stephen Farris

Patent Agent

Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

 Angela Freeman

Intellectual Property Associate / Patent Attorney

Barnes & Thornburg LLP

 Jo Lynn Garing

Group Manager, Communications

Roche Diagnostics

Andre Givens

Director of Undergraduate Enterprise and Engagement

University of Indianapolis

 Bryan Hannon

Government Relations Director

American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

 Olivia Hawbaker

Project Manager

Citizens Energy Group

 Ryan Hunley

Owner/Art Director

Second Street Creative

 Duane Ingram

Director of Real Estate Management

Indianapolis Housing Agency

 Tiffany Kyser

Associate Director of Engagement & Partnerships

Midwest & Plains Equity Assistance Center

 Marie Luken Mackintosh

Chief Operations Officer


Lauren Petersen

Senior Director of Relationship Management


 Brent Pierce

Administrator, Real Estate and Economic Development

City of Indianapolis – Department of Metropolitan Development

 Matthew Piety

Director, Sales and Marketing

Anthem Inc.

 Jamie Ratner Rich

Executive Director

JP Morgan Chase

Blake Roebuck

Foundation & Marketing Manager

Indiana Economic Development Corp.

 J. Sebastian Smelko


Ice Miller LLP

 Yecenia Tostado

Senior Program Director

Indiana Latino Institute


In Remembrance: Andre B. Lacy, Indianapolis civic leader

Andre B. Lacy

Leadership Indianapolis is deeply saddened by the passing of Andre B. Lacy, an extraordinary business and civic leader.

Mr. Lacy was a member of the very first SKL class and served as Moderator for SKL Class XV. Over the years he has been involved with numerous organizations sharing his time, wisdom, and philanthropic support.

He was a tremendous community leader and his legacy will continue to impact our city for many years to come.

Leadership Indianapolis shares a special relationship with the Lacy family. Our thoughts are with our dear friends during this difficult time.